Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.2 In D Major Op.73 (Dover Miniature Score)

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: Dover Publications
Composer: Johannes Brahms
Format: Books | Study Score

Braham's second symphony was an instant success when it first premiered in 1877. From its ingenious treatment of attractive melodic ideas in the first movement and the somber adagio, to the lyrical charm of the allegretto and the finale's robust cheerfulness, it is a delightful combination of enchanting melodies and masterly thematic treatment. A staple of the repertoire, it is reproduced here from an authoritative edition.

The score appears with bar-numbered movements, ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall. This affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be edition of choice for music students and music lovers alike.

Instrumentation includes:
  • 4 Horns in C, D, E, G, B
  • 2 Trumpets in D, B
  • 3 Trombones
  • Bass Tumba
  • Timpani

  • 2 Flutes
  • 2 Oboes
  • 2 Clarinets in A
  • 2 Bassoons

  • Violin 1, 2
  • Violas
  • Cellos
  • Basses
ISBN: 9780486406374
Skill Level: Intermediate-Advanced Explain this
Published on: 03 September 1999
No of pages: 80
Language: English
Catalogue No: DP16983