Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.10 (Study Score)

Books | Orchestra

Publisher: G. Schirmer
Composer: Gustav Mahler
Format: Books | Study Score
Just as the Payne/Elgar Symphony No. 3 is not Edward Elgar's definitive statement, Mahler did not complete a Symphony No. 10. He did, however, leave 'a work fully prepared in the sketch,' the complete unorchestrated musical material. Had he lived, Mahler would almost certainly have shaped the material further. This means that the performance edition prepared by Deryck Cooke in the early 1960s is not a completion, it's an orchestration of the short score left at Mahler's death in 1911. It nevertheless sounds very 'complete,' both in itself and as a summation of the romantic-epic 19th century German musical tradition.
Skill Level: Intermediate-Advanced Explain this
No of pages: 68
Language: English
Catalogue No: GS24120

          Musicroom Reviews

          This score is fine if you are interested only in the two movements Mahler completyed (or almost completed; but it still contains a few of the errors noted by Cooke. If you are interested in the entire symphony, either as the composer left it or as in the performing version, you will need to buy that score instead: it contains both of these and has a comprehensive introduction.
          Anonymous - (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom)

          Recently Viewed